Skip to content


The exclusive presidency of Bethany Seminary was established in 1977 when the Rev. Theodore A. Aaberg was called. Prior to this, the seminary shared a president with Bethany Lutheran College, Mankato, Minnesota, and the primary administrative operations of the seminary were handled by the Dean of the Seminary. The following men have served as deans and presidents of Bethany Seminary:


Rev. Norman A. Madson, D.D. (1946–1959)
Rev. Milton H. Otto (1968–1981)


Rev. Theodore A. Aaberg (1977–1979)
Rev. Wilhelm W. Petersen, D.D. (1980–1997)
Rev. Gaylin R. Schmeling, S.T.M. (1997–2022)
Rev. Timothy Hartwig (2022-present)